haserwest.blogg.se

Lrb m14 parts kits
Lrb m14 parts kits







lrb m14 parts kits

It shows me what my reloads and my skill can do verses a bit of random luck on a 3 or a 5 shot group. I find that it really takes a lot more patience and concentration to put 50 shots into one target and not flub up vs. It will be a lot of fun to see what other guns can do on the 50 shot groups. To me shooting has now become a very personal game of beating my own skill level. My goal on the range is to have fun and do better then I did last time. I don't shoot competitively against others, just my own skill level. Just to show I am not always as good as my Supermatch, here is what my 94 can do off the same setup. I almost always shoot 50 shot groups so that is just my pet peeve. 50 shots, any speed of fire, off the bench at 100 yrds. Off the bench at 100 yards, 50 round count, correct? I don't have time this weekend or next weekend due to family commitments, but I'll give it a go over the 15-16th. Let me see if I can repeat your national target with my M14. Peter, I've seen your targets before and have been impressed by them. They push the financial boundary of a custom rifle from Fulton, SEI, LRB or other custom builders. But those rifles cost significantly more than the standards, at the same time. that was coloring with too broad of a brush. I'll admit I should not have lumped the SuperMatch and National Match rifles from Springfield in with the standard M1A's. The National Match, being one model lower than the SuperMatch, opening up its groups slightly. Here is 50 shots, 100 yrds off the bench from my SuperMatch.Įven my National will do 2 MOA with open sights and my crappy eyesight for a 50 shot group. I'm sure you realize that you gave it extra attention, thereby demonstrating that a Springer standard is not up to your accuracy expectations. I have built up match M1a's, and an excellent gunsmith, Ronnie Morris of Match Service Works, Madison TN, built those. The Supermatch no doubt gets extra attention. A standard goes for about $1200-$1500 depending on the market. I note that that rifle is a SuperMatch, not a Springer standard.

lrb m14 parts kits

(I might have changed the rear aperature from a 0.595 to a 0.520, can't remember). I won a Regional gold and received my Distinguished with a stock, rear lugged, Springfield Super Match. They are amazingly accurate and will shoot circles around anything from Springfield Inc.Ī Springer will shoot 2 MOA with good ammo, sure.īut a custom M14 will shoot less than 1 MOA with equally good ammo. If you don't mind it shipping with a 10 round mag instead of a 20.Ī custom M14 from any of probably a dozen smiths in this country is a work of masterful precision that will be passed down to your grandchildren. If you don't mind a non-bayonet lug front sight base and flash hider, since they tend to cater to the lowest common denominator across the states. If you don't mind a non-USGI style of stock. If you don't mind a headspace closer to 1.635 rather than 1.631 or 1.632. If you don't mind improper alignment of the gas piston with the base of the operating rod. If you don't mind some horizontal slop in the rear sight adding 1/2 to 1 MOA to your groups. Springfields are "okay" if you want a rifle that looks like an M14. That's because Fulton, Smith Enterprises and the host of other small-shop manufacturers or smiths out there don't build M1A's. Except for the lug, the LRB receiver has the same sidewalls, and looks very GI.įulton's a rip off. He is also importing other parts for the M14 type rifle.Ī gentleman I know ordered a rear lug LRB receiver and I was able to take a few photos of it. Apparently Lou has a dimensionally consistent receiver. If you don't know, Government drawings contain a lot of inconsistancies, you have to figure out that stuff out, for the parts to fit. Lou started from the original GI drawings. Instead owners are vocally very happy about LRB receivers and rifles. From those who have built up rifles around them, I have not heard a negative word. The receivers I examined showed excellent machining and surface finish. I met Lou B at Camp Perry, he is a mild mannered gentleman who should be thanked for bringing back a forged M14 type receiver.









Lrb m14 parts kits